NAPTOSA was registered by the Registrar of Labour Relations as a Trade Union on 1 November 2006. Furthermore, with in excess of 50,000 State employed members and a further 6,000 School Governing Body, College Council and Independent School members, making a total of 56,000 members, (in 2013) we are by far the second largest union in the education sector.
We enjoy all the rights of a trade union in this sector and operate in the ELRC under the name of the Combined Trade Unions (CTU), called CTU – ATU . The Autonomous Teachers’ Unions (ATU) consist of HOSPERSA, NAPTOSA, NATU, PEU, PSA and SAOU.